Updated 09:20 AM EDT, Mon, Jul 13, 2020

Stephen Curry & Steve Kerr Disagree With $5K Flop Fine During Game 1 vs Rockets

  • +
  • -
  • Sign up to receive the lastest news from LATINONE
Close

There was a disagreement within the Golden State Warriors after their Game 1 win against the Houston Rockets. Coach Steve Kerr and NBA 2015 MVP Stephen Curry reportedly disputed over the play that resulted to a $5,000 flop fine for the star player.

Despite the disparity in their opinions, both concurred that the incident involving Curry "was not worth the league's time or discipline," as per ESPN.

Kerr and Curry also agreed that the latter's fall after making a shot on Tuesday's game is "common" in the league.

"These plays happen every day. I don't think a game goes by where Jamal Crawford doesn't flop six times on his 3-point shots. It's part of the game. I don't blame him for doing it," Kerr told ESPN.

But, Kerr said that the fall was "probably" a flop and called the choice of the NBA to single out Curry on his fall as "strange."

"Are we just choosing one time to do this? You can pick out flops every single game from half the guys on the floor," Kerr added.

The MVP was reportedly fined for violating the NBA's anti-flopping rules after he made a 3-pointer with just 3 minutes remaining during the fourth quarter of the game that ended with the Warriors winning a 110-106 victory.

"Yeah, I don't agree with it. I watched the play over and, transition play, so obviously balance is not very good in that situation," Curry defended himself, adding that he obviously tripped and that it was not a flop.

He reportedly aced his three-pointer and gave the Warriors a 106-97 lead, but he got bumped by defender Terrence Jones, causing him to lose his balance.

"When I shoot it, I see someone hit me on my arm, and when you're up in the air it's obviously a reaction to that. That play happens countless times. I wasn't even looking for the foul; I was just reacting to the contact," the MVP added.

CBS Sports said Curry was definitely "annoyed" with the fine though he can definitely afford paying for it with his $10.6 million annual salary from the sport alone.

Meanwhile, Kerr reportedly said that he was "morally outraged" with the punishment. Upon watching the play again, Kerr questioned if the incident, when the two players "seemed" to have made contact, deserved a call.

Curry, for his part, said that he has never gotten a call from a referee for a similar violation.

"The refs will tell you in a game if you kick your leg out trying to get contact on the closeout, or if you argue the call in the middle of a game. They'll tell you, 'No, the ball was already gone.' or you didn't get hit, or you fell without contact, and stuff like that. But I've never gotten a call from the league about it," the player explained.

© 2015 Latin One. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
  • Sign up to receive the lastest news from LATINONE

Curiosidades

Real Time Analytics