Updated 12:52 PM EDT, Thu, Oct 21, 2021

New Texas Driving Laws to Take Effect September 1

  • +
  • -
  • Sign up to receive the lastest news from LATINONE
Close

Starting September 1, drivers in Texas will be subjected to new traffic and driving laws, says Dallas News.

Texas drivers are advised to take note of five important changes to the driving laws in the state. The new Texas driving laws include changes to laws regarding incidents like hit and run, the use of cell phones around schools, passing stopped school buses, the "move over" law and driver's insurance cards.

According to Dallas News, the penalties for leaving the scene in the incident that you hit someone have been greatly increased. The increase was partly due to the noticeable trend of intoxicated drivers leaving the scene during such traffic incident.

Dallas Deputy Police Chief Gary Tittle said that the lower penalty for leaving the scene "was giving them an incentive to leave." Penalties for intoxication manslaughter were considerably high compared to penalties for hit and run.

With the new Texas driving laws to take effect on Sunday, penalties for both intoxication manslaughter and hit and run are already the same. Drivers who leave the scene of an accident involving injury or death will now be subjected to a penalty of 2 to 20 years imprisonment and fined for up to $10,000, says Dallas News.

Drivers who make use of their cell phones in all school properties including parking lots and drop off lanes will now also be subjected to as much as $200 in fine. Drivers who stop their vehicles and those who make use of hands-free devices will still be exempted.

Penalties for passing school buses when their flashing lights and stop signs are still active have also been raised to a new range of $500 to $1250. Violators caught through school bus cameras are subjected to a $300 fine.

Texas' "move over" law has also been revamped. According to Gas Buddy, drivers in Texas are also now required to yield to Texas Department of Transportation workers and vehicles stopped with overhead flashing blue or amber lights. In the past, drivers are only required to slow down or move over for police, fire and emergency vehicles.

Motorists are requested to move out of the lane or slow down 20 miles per hour below the posted speed limit for the lane. Violators will be fined up to $2000 if caught.

The new Texas driving law will now also allow drivers to present their insurance through their phones, says the Texas Tribune. Instead of fumbling around for their insurance cards, drivers can now make use of their smart phones when pulled over by police officers.

© 2015 Latin One. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
  • Sign up to receive the lastest news from LATINONE

Curiosidades

Real Time Analytics