Updated 02:57 PM EDT, Wed, Aug 04, 2021

Olympics 2016: Reigning U.S. Women's Soccer Champions Open Bid vs Costa Rica

  • +
  • -
  • Sign up to receive the lastest news from LATINONE

The U.S. team, which is the current Olympic women's soccer victors, is set to open their bid for a berth on the upcoming Rio Games against the Costa Rican team after the draw in Miami for the qualifiers.

Reuters said in a report published by Yahoo Sports that it will happen on Feb. 10 at 7:30 p.m. in Texas. It also explained that the U.S., along with 7 other national teams were grouped into two for the tournament.

For Group A, the United States joins Puerto Rico, Mexico and Costa Rica which will play their games at the Toyota Stadium in Frisco.

On the other hand, Group B has Canada, Guatemala, Trinidad & Tobago and Guyana, who will play at the BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Texas.

U.S. head coach Jill Ellis recognized that it will be a great experience for them going against new participants in the qualifiers.

"In our group, we've got two very familiar opponents in Costa Rica and Mexico and we'll have to be well-prepared as they are both coming off World Cup runs and have experienced teams," Ellis added.

But SB Nation noted that the draw was "unkind" to the U.S. since Mexico is the third best team in the games and Costa Rica being equally competitive.

It added that the game versus Puerto Rico will also be interesting since the team has not reached this far in any competition in the past.

According to SoccerWire, U.S. is also set to face Mexico on Feb. 13 at 3 p.m. and Puerto Rico on Feb. 15 at 7:30 p.m. Below is a complete list of the game schedules as per Soccer Wire:

2016 CONCACAF Women's Olympic Qualifying


Wednesday, Feb. 10 (Frisco)

Puerto Rico vs. Mexico 5 p.m. (6 p.m.)

USA vs. Costa Rica 7:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m.)

Thursday, Feb. 11 (Houston)

Guatemala vs. Trinidad & Tobago 5 p.m. (6 p.m.)

Canada vs. Guyana7:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m.)

Saturday, Feb. 13 (Frisco)

Costa Rica vs. Puerto Rico 12:30 p.m. (1:30 p.m.)

USA vs. Mexico 3 p.m. (4 p.m.)

Sunday, Feb. 14 (Houston)

Guyana vs. Guatemala 12:30 p.m. (1:30 p.m.)

Trinidad vs. Canada3 p.m. (4 p.m.)

Monday, Feb. 15 (Frisco)

Mexico vs. Costa Rica 5 p.m. (6 p.m.)

USA vs. Puerto Rico 7:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m.)

Tuesday, Feb. 16 (Houston)

Trinidad & Tobago vs. Guyana 5 p.m. (6 p.m.)

Canada vs. Guatemala 7:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m.)


Friday, Feb. 19 (Houston)

Group B winner vs. Group A runner-up 4:30 p.m. (5:30 p.m.)

Group A winner vs. Group B runner-up 7:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m.)


Sunday, Feb. 21 (Houston)

Semifinal winners 4 p.m. (5 p.m.)

Two CONCACAF (Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football) finalists will automatically qualify for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

© 2015 Latin One. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
  • Sign up to receive the lastest news from LATINONE


Real Time Analytics