Updated 02:40 PM EDT, Tue, Oct 26, 2021

Full Moon 2014 Live Streaming: Strawberry Honey Moon Tonight; Best View Time for Rare Friday the 13th Phenomenon

  • +
  • -
  • Sign up to receive the lastest news from LATINONE
Close

A rare Full Moon will be in sight this Thursday night until Friday morning, reports the Brevard Times.

According to Earth Sky, the Friday the 13th moon will be "astronomically full" on June 13, at 4:11 Universal Time. "At U.S. time zones, that means the moon will turn full on Friday, June 13 at 12:11 a.m. EDT, but on Thursday, June 12 at 11:11 p.m. CDT, 10:11 p.m. MDT or 9:11 p.m. PDT," the outlet adds.

The Baltimore Sun explains that this Friday's Full Moon actually goes by many names including Strawberry Moon and Honey Moon.

Strawberry Moon reportedly refers to a Full Moon which occurs in June. "The 'strawberry' name comes from the fact that it's strawberry season, and Algonquin tribes knew this was the time of year to gather them, according to the Old Farmer's Almanac. It is also known as the Rose Moon and the Hot Moon, according to the almanac," the Baltimore Sun points out.

The Honey Moon name, on the other hand, is reportedly due to the Full Moon's color which can be of a slightly golden tint, says the Baltimore Sun. Earth Sky explains the same, saying:

"In this hemisphere, the June full moon is sometimes called a Honey Moon, possibly because it never gets very high in the sky. When we gaze toward this full moon throughout the night tonight, we are seeing it through more of Earth's atmosphere than when the moon is overhead. The atmosphere reddens its color."

Universe Today says that a Full Moon falling on Friday the 13th in June is typically a rare occurrence. According to the outlet, the last June Friday the 13th Full Moon happened on June 13, 1919 while the next after this year's June Friday the 13th Full Moon is set to occur on June 13, 2098.

Though Friday the 13th Full Moons falling on the month of June are rare, there have been 15 Full Moons which occurred on the 13th day of the month from 1990 to 2030, reports Universe Today.

The Brevard Times says that those who are planning to witness the sight at the US East Coast can also enjoy a moonlit stroll. "This Full Moon brings along with it an Atlantic Ocean very low tide that will occur around 8:08 p.m., with a few minutes of variation depending on your exact location," reports the outlet.

Those who cannot head out to see the rare June Friday the 13th Full Moon, also known as Strawberry Moon and Honey Moon can still witness the phenomenon through Slooh's live streaming below.

© 2015 Latin One. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
  • Sign up to receive the lastest news from LATINONE

Curiosidades

Real Time Analytics