Updated 12:26 PM EST, Tue, Jan 26, 2021

88th Oscars Announces First Round of Presenters [List]

  • +
  • -
  • Sign up to receive the lastest news from LATINONE

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has unveiled its first round of presenters for the 88th Oscars ceremony, which is hosted by Chris Rock and will air on ABC on Feb. 28, 2016.

Listed below are the first slate of presenters and performers, as provided by Oscars.org.

  •  Benicio del Toro
  •  Tina Fey
  •  Whoopi Goldberg
  •  Ryan Gosling
  •  Kevin Hart
  •  Lady Gaga
  •  Sam Smith
  •  Charlize Theron
  •  Jacob Tremblay
  •  The Weeknd
  •  Pharrell Williams

"Each of these artists brings a wonderfully distinctive element to the Oscars stage," said Oscars producers David Hill and Reginald Hudlin, as quoted by the news outlet. "Together they represent the many thrilling ways stories can be shared about the human experience, and we're honored they will be part of the celebration."

The 88th Oscars will be held at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, and will be televised live at 7 PM ET/4 PM PT, Oscars.org noted. The ceremony will also broadcast live in over 225 countries worldwide.

For the complete list of this year's Oscars nominees, check out this page.

The 88th Oscars nominations have received plenty of controversy and outrage for its lack of diversity, with actors of color also giving their two cents on the issue.

The Academy has recently introduced membership changes to improve diversity. The Board of Governors has approved a series of extensive adjustments to make the Academy's membership, its leaders, and its voting members more diverse by the time 2020 arrives.

"The Academy is going to lead and not wait for the industry to catch up," said Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs in a statement quoted by the official site for the Oscars. "These new measures regarding governance and voting will have an immediate impact and begin the process of significantly changing our membership composition."

The new membership rules apply to both old and new members of the Academy. Beginning in late 2016, each new member's voting status will last for 10 years and will be renewed "only if that new member has been active in motion pictures during that decade," according to Oscars' website. Members will be given lifetime voting rights after three ten-year terms or if they have won or been nominated for an Academy Award. Those inactive in the last 10 years can still qualify by meeting the other criteria.

Individuals who are not qualified for active positions will be moved to emeritus status, where members don't pay dues but are still eligible for membership privileges, except voting, the news outlet noted. The Academy will also create three new governor seats to be nominated by the president for three-year terms and confirmed by the Board.

© 2015 Latin One. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
  • Sign up to receive the lastest news from LATINONE


Real Time Analytics